Who We Are

The Wyoming Department of Workforce Services (DWS) has recently realigned into three primary areas: Workforce Standards, Policy and Communications, and Workforce Programs. Refer to organizational chart. The purpose of the realignment is ultimately aimed at bettering the mission of the agency, while providing a more efficient internal structure that will benefit both internal and external stakeholders.

Workforce Standards Division

The Workforce Standards Division is responsible for the Workers Compensation Program as well as regulatory and compliance/enforcement. This includes Workers Compensation Claims and Employer Services, Workers Compensation Safety and Risk (WCSR) and Wyoming Occupation Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), Labor Standards, and Employment Tax.

Policy and Communication Division

The Policy and Communication Division is responsible for policy development/distribution, education, information, and outreach. The following Programs are included under this Division: Communication, Occupational Epidemiologist, Workforce Development Council Liaison, WIOA Policy Strategy Team, and Research & Planning.

Workforce Programs Division

The Workforce Programs Division is responsible for the employment and social services aspects of DWS and includes One-Stop Workforce Centers, Vocational Rehabilitation, and Unemployment Insurance.

Through its 55 state and federal programs administered in 23 field offices, the DWS places emphasis on eight core functions:

  1. Benefits: stabilization of the quality of life for injured and/or unemployed workers, medical and indemnity benefits for injured workers, monitoring of trends in labor market information to assist with economic development.
  2. Career Guidance: assessing skills, interests and aptitudes which establish solid career pathways.
  3. Collections: initiating employer registration, collection of payroll information to ensure proper remittance of workers' compensation and unemployment insurance premiums, capture of data for development into labor market information.
  4. Employment: job placement and retention.
  5. Enforcement: investigation of wage claims and fair employment assurance, inspection of all mines and quarries, monitoring of workplace-related fatalities, injuries and illnesses through inspection, consultation, training and compliance.
  6. Recruitment: the process of connecting an individual employment seeker to an employer which has identified specific skills and qualifications.
  7. Rehabilitation: assisting clients with disabilities in acquiring and retaining employment through specialized assessment, vocational counseling and guidance, physical and mental restoration, training, employment placement and professional development.
  8. Training: programs focused on skills development for placement, retention and wage progression/career advancement.

DWS also administers and/or collaborates with other agencies, councils, and teams to carry out important Governor-promoted initiatives and state and federal legislative mandates.

Commissions and Boards

There are several Commissions and/or Boards that help govern DWS' activities. These include the following commissions: Mining, OSHA, Unemployment Insurance, and Medical. The Office of Administrative Hearings hears contested Workers Compensation claims involving compensability; while the Medical Commission hears contested, medically complex cases. Each commission consists of a number of individuals, appointed by the Governor, and Wyoming Statute clarifies the power vested in them. The federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) dictates that each state has Workforce Development Board(s) charged with directing federal, state and local funding to workforce development programs. Wyoming has one state-level Workforce Development Board which advises the Wyoming DWS and the 20 Workforce Centers in the State. In Wyoming, this board is called the Wyoming Workforce Development Council (WWDC) and serves in the capacity as "Local Board(s)" as well.