Wyoming Employers and Individuals Recognized for Exceptional Efforts at 2015 Safety and Workplace Summit

CHEYENNE –The Wyoming Department of Workforce Services (DWS) and its partners recognized 11 outstanding Wyoming employers or individuals at the 2015 Wyoming Safety and Workforce Summit Wednesday evening.

Each year, the Wyoming Department of Workforce Services, the Wyoming Workforce Development Council and the Wyoming Oil and Gas Industry Safety Alliance (WOGISA) present awards to deserving Wyoming employers and individuals for their outstanding contributions to Wyoming's workforce at the Wyoming Safety and Workforce Summit.

"We must all work to build a culture of safety in the workplace," said Governor Matt Mead. "This work advances through individuals willing to take a stand to prevent accidents and save lives. We honor those individuals that have demonstrated the commitment to safety first and commend their efforts."

Director of the Wyoming Department of Workforce Services Joan Evans presented the Governor's Safety Award Certificates. "Chevron Carter Creek and LPR Construction have distinguished themselves as ambassadors of safety and health. The Voluntary Protection Program (VPP) is the premier OSHA recognition program for work sites that do an excellent job of protecting their employees. Chevron Carter Creek has been a VPP participant for more than ten years," said Evans. "LPR Construction has achieved the exemplary VPP STAR status. It is an honor to recognize these standouts in workplace safety."

Jim Engel, Chairman of the Wyoming Workforce Development Council, presented the workforce awards. "The recipients of the workforce awards are true innovators and cultivators of workplace excellence," said Engel. "Strobel Starostka Transfer, LLC of Fort Laramie, Wyoming Wireless of Riverton and Dave Curry of Cheyenne continue to strengthen Wyoming's communities and the State's economic vitality.

WOGISA President Nate Nordin presented the WOGISA Stop Work Authority Award. "All of the safety training in the world is useless without the resolve to act," said Nordin. "These individuals made the choice to stop a situation that posed dangers to themselves and their co-workers. We applaud their actions and encourage all work sites to utilize this important tool."

The following employers or individuals are recipients of awards at the 2015 Wyoming Safety and Workforce Summit:

Governor's Safety Award Certificates

Governor's Safety Awards are presented to Wyoming employers demonstrating a strong safety culture and excellence in safety and health programs.


  • Large Employer: Black Thunder Mine
  • Small Employer: Wyodak Resources Development Corporation - Wyodak Coal Mine
Mine-site contractor
  • Large Employer: GK Construction
  • Small Employer: Redi Project Services

OSHA Prestige Programs Award

  • Carter Creek Gas Plant - Chevron USA

Wyoming Refinery Safety Alliance Award

  • LPR Construction Company

Workforce Development

The Wyoming Workforce Development Council recognizes employers or individuals in the following categories:

Outstanding Business Contribution to the Workforce Award

  • Strobel Starostka Transfer
  • Wyoming Wireless

Outstanding Individual Contribution to the Workforce Award

  • Dave Curry, Program Director, Technical Studies, Laramie County Community College

Stop Work Authority Award (SWA)

The SWA recognizes an action that has taken place at a project or work site in Wyoming. The award honors an individual or group who engaged in a tangible action to stop the work or task due to a perceived, potential or actual hazardous condition.

  • Governor's Stop Work Authority: Cesar Soto
  • WOGISA Stop Work Authority: Matthew Mitchell

For more information about the 2015 Wyoming Safety and Workforce Awards, visit wyomingworkforce.org.

More News >>