Employers must be current on payments to be eligible for credit.
CHEYENNE - The ability to claim a premium credit for Wyoming employers enrolled in the workers' compensation program is set to expire on January 31, 2018. The Wyoming Department of Workforce Services (DWS) started issuing premium credits to eligible Wyoming employers this past August.
Jason Wolfe, Administrator for the Office of Standards and Compliance at DWS, said, "Over 6,000 Wyoming employers who are eligible to claim this credit have yet to do so. Of those, roughly 1,000 are eligible to receive $1,000 or more."
The one-time premium credit is the result of a bill passed by the Wyoming Legislature and signed into law by Governor Mead. The 8.33 percent credit can be used by employers toward their workers' compensation premium starting August 1, 2017, and applied toward premium payments until January 31, 2018. If not used during that timeframe, the opportunity to apply the credit toward premium expires on January 31, 2018.
In order to be eligible for the credit, employers must have made premium payments in calendar year 2016, and are required to be in good standing with the Workers' Compensation Division on all required workers' compensation payments as of June 15, 2017.
Employers can claim the credit by calling the Division of Workers' Compensation at (307) 777-6763.